Supreme Court of Western Australia

Jury Duty

A jury is a group of 12 to 18 people randomly chosen, who are sworn to try the issue of facts and return a verdict in criminal trials. Jurors are selected randomly from the electoral roll maintained by the Western Australian Electoral Commission (WAEC).

If you are summoned for jury duty then you must attend at the location and date and time as directed on the summons. If you have any difficulties with this then please contact the court that issued the summons.

Jury duty induction and trial selection for all District and Supreme Court trials for the metropolitan area are generally carried out at the Perth District Court and directions about Supreme Court trials are issued there.

Further information is available on the Department of Justice website.

Last updated: 9-Oct-2023

[ back to top ]